Sabres lock up Paul Gaustad

Paul GaustadHoly proactiveness, Batman!

TSN brought us the news earlier this evening that the Buffalo Sabres signed soon-to-be restricted free agent Paul Gaustad to a 4 year, $9.2 million dollar contract.

“I’m excited about where this team is headed, and I’ve really come to love playing in Buffalo,” Gaustad told THE CANADIAN PRESS by telephone from his home in Portland, Ore.

“It’s something where you take a step back and look at where I came from and how I got there. I’m very proud to have this contract,” Gaustad added. “It’s something where I never really thought I’d make it in the NHL, and now I have a contract like this.”

”It’s a good deal for both and I think they recognize his value,” Gaustad’s agent, Carlos Sosa said.

The deal will pay Gaustad $1.7 million in 2008-09, and $2.5 million in each of the three subsequent years. He would have been eligible for unrestricted free agency following next season, so the Sabres “bought” three UFA-years.

I’m not gonna say it’s a bad deal, because Gaustad is one of the guys they have to build around, but damn, these contracts are gonna make it tough to give some of these players reasonable contracts. Drew Stafford and Daniel Paille are gonna be in the same ballpark now, so it’ll be tough to bring in outside help when you’re shelling out for your own guys.

Posted on June 30, 2008, in Sabres/NHL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

